Lazy Weekends and Pretzelly Procrastination

I admit it, I have a problem.

I started this weekend with the best of intentions, just as I always do.  By Sunday Monday Today, the house was supposed to be cleaner, the laundry folded, all of the Christmas decorations shoved back under the stairs, and several disorganized areas around the house were supposed to be organized.

Well, some of that happened, and some did not.

Saturday was quite possibly the laziest I’ve had in a very long time.  Much of it was spent watching episodes of Dexter: Season 4.

 

Which I highly recommend, by the way.

Sunday, I ended up reading and doing more nothing.

Monday…well, I did do some of the stuff I needed to do, but didn’t actually get out of my PJ’s to do it.

So here I am.  It’s Tuesday afternoon and I have managed to procrastinate on the writing of my blog (and folding laundry) for FIVE WHOLE DAYS.

Is that a record or something?

But I am NOT at all proud of this.  And I need help.  Admitting you have a problem is the first step in defeating it, right?

What do YOU do to keep from procrastinating?  How do you manage to juggle all the balls

Just call me "Princess Procrastina"

you have to keep in the air without saying “fuck it” and dropping 3 or 4?

I need help.  So please, tell me how you do it.

And, if you happen to live in mid-Missouri and are extremely handy at organization, my house and I could use you.  Bring a pointy stick…you might need it to prod my butt off the couch.

 

 

About DrPretzel

Student of philosophy and medicine, mother of 2 Creatures of Mass Destruction (a.k.a. "boys"), Soldier, sister, daughter, friend, cat person, social inept, INTJ, blah, blah, blah...are you even reading this?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lazy Weekends and Pretzelly Procrastination

  1. Guy says:

    Dr Pretzel,
    I think that there are times when one might call Procrastinating when really one is prioritizing. If I choose that this task isn’t important to complete today or even tomorrow then …I don’t need to do it. If you don’t feel the gumption to do it…let it go. I think the military calls it “Priority of Work.” Perform the most important tasks and sometimes the other lesser important stuff can just be put on hold.

    It is also perfectly acceptable to have lazy days. For most hard working people, our day is filled with GO!GO!GO! and when we get home…ah..home…it is….. GO! GO! GO! cook, clean, laundry, getting the kids here and there, etc….

    Now there is a difference between prioritizing what you want to get done in a day vs shrugging of responsibilities. So if you have dead beat qualities (lazy, lethargic, unmotivated to get out of your own way, lack of responsibility for self) then you can call it whatever you like…the bottom line is those are fine qualities of a dead beat. Go seek help. But I don’t think that is what we are talking about though I did want to make the distinction.

    So give yourself permission to refuel, recharge and relax.

    • DrPretzel says:

      You know, I’ve actually improved quite a lot in this area. I do still have the occasional lazy day (because there’s no reason to stress about things that can wait…I’d rather spend that time enjoying myself, friends and family), but have organized my life into focus zones which have varying priority (see “The Mayonnaise Jar and Two Beers”).

      I sometimes think about how much really matters. How necessary are the expectations we place upon ourselves and others? At the end of the day, does it really matter if the shoes in the hallway are all lined up? Or if the rug in the living room is crookedy? Or if I haven’t yet organized the basement after moving three months ago?

      No, not really, in the long run it doesn’t matter. I’ll be outside, trick or treating with my boys.

  2. K. Syrah says:

    To do lists. I use very dumbed down to-do lists where one task (ie. cleaning the apartment) might encompass 4 or five different tasks by room. Each time I cross one off, I feel so good about myself!

  3. Brian Gillum says:

    I will think about it later and get back to you on that.

Say Something...You Know You Want To...

