The Repeal of DADT and Human Nature

All We Need is Love...

In response to Wayfaring Stranger’s excellent open letter to those servicemen and women affected by the repeal of DADT:

Well said, Riley.  I wanted to add a few thoughts.

I’ve said for a long time that there is nothing more wrong than denying a person the ability to reach their full spiritual potential.  When a person tells another who and how they may love they are disallowing another human being the ability to exercise their free will.  This is truly an affront to nature and the wheel of life.  Regardless your personal opinion on homosexuality, it’s their life not yours.

To me, telling a person “you are not allowed to openly love the person you love the most” is despicable.  I am ecstatic that so many Soldiers will be able to pursue and openly find happiness with their partners.  I’m happy when anyone is able to find love in this ridiculously tumultuous world.

Thing interesting thing about humans is that there will ALWAYS be some moron who will judge you, regardless your sexual orientation.  It might be that you or your partner is “too old” or “too young” or “too tall/fat/skinny/mean/nice/gay/straight/brown/pale/etc.”  It might be that they don’t like your accent, or that you come from a different place.  You’d think that people would be used to diversity within the military, but some folks just weren’t raised right…and even military service can’t retrain them.

It doesn’t matter what these idiots think.  They clearly do not understand that they and their “opinions” are unwelcome and unimportant.  They will find themselves to be confused and lonely individuals in the future.

What will those opinions be worth when they find themselves ostracized and alone?

Changing these types of people is often out of the scope of our own ability.  It is a change which will occur slowly over time, and for some…well, some will never change.  I am truly sad in my heart for them, because they don’t know what love really is.  They think they do, but real love for our fellow man/woman requires honest appreciation for both differences and similarities.

We simply have to accept that there will always be someone who does not like us or agree with us.  As a female in uniform myself, I have heard numerous times (and in numerous ways) that I am a bad mother for allowing myself to be deployed instead of leaving the military to be a stay-at-home mother.  I quit my full time Army job to go back to school (I’m still a part time Soldier), and now I’m a bad mother for being a full time student who will be going to medical school very shortly.

Those who judge simply don’t understand that the ability to exhibit real love begins outside of oneself with appreciation of the plethora of human emotions by which we are united.  Society places much emphasis on diversity; so much that we often forget the other side of the coin:  Unity.  We are united by common bonds as human beings and ought not forget that.

Please don’t think that I am trivializing anyone’s difficulties.  I am not.  My point is this:  You can’t win for losing with these idiots, so there is no sense in wasting energy by playing their little games.  Avoid them and surround yourself with those who love and appreciate you.  Push away negative energy and do not allow the black hole that is “Bigot” to suck you into its orbit.

All the best,

Dr. Pretzel

About DrPretzel

Student of philosophy and medicine, mother of 2 Creatures of Mass Destruction (a.k.a. "boys"), Soldier, sister, daughter, friend, cat person, social inept, INTJ, blah, blah, blah...are you even reading this?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Repeal of DADT and Human Nature

  1. Guy says:

    I cannot imagine what it would be like to be told I could not be with a person whom I loved and because I do love that type person /black, white, big, small, male, female/ that I could not openly serve. WTF I am a little late on this post but thought it to be a good article to chim in on.

  2. Majeh85 says:

    Personally, I don’t recall ever caring what the military or anyone else says about stuff like that. As long as you’re not hurting anyone or shoving your business in mine or someone else’s face, no pun intended, I really don’t care what you do or who you love. If you’re gay or bi or whatever, good for you. How does it affect me? Chances are it doesn’t. I had someone come out to me recently, not in the military and not hitting on me, but the only thing I could think to say is, “So. You being gay with a boyfriend doesn’t change anything. I just don’t care as long as it works for you.” But it was a big deal to him so it’s whatever. And I also agree with Riley about being discreet but not lying or concealing it. Awesome that I’ve managed to surround myself with such awesome people, it surprises me ever so often when I think about it. 🙂

  3. The DA says:

    Very well said to both ladies! Thank you!!
    🙂

  4. Riley Carson says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I honestly thought that I was going to get flamed for that post! I’m glad people agree.

Say Something...You Know You Want To...

